It’s a bacon tree (or a ham bush, I’m not sure.)

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I once took a class of children out into the nature area that ran all along the side of our school. We crashed and blundered about shouting and singing and looking at all the different colours of green and different seeds and flowers.

We stopped to look into the little pond to see if any frogs had been visiting. Just then, from the far end of the nature, area I heard another class coming out to crash and blunder through the bushes and find different seeds and flowers.

“I know” I said loudly to the 20 or so children rolling and climbing around me, “lets hide behind this bush – (pointing to small shrub) – and surprise the other class when they get here.”

So we all went around to the far side of the bush and pretended to hide.

I should add at this point that it was an infant school and the children were only 5 and 6 years old. I assumed that was obvious but…well, you know?

Anyway, the other class arrived. As they approached I heard their teacher say, in a loud clear voice, “I hope nobody is hiding behind that bush – (points at small bush with 20+ small children crowded behind it giggling and peeping over the top) – to try and scare us.”

The trap was set, the children were primed, and as the other class approached my children shook the branches, roared their terrible roars and laughed with joy.

The other class reciprocated, they screamed and pointed, they laughed and greeted their friends from my class.

Except Nathan.

Nathan had picked up on none of the hints, clues and cues he had been offered.

Nathan had not noticed the entire class of children poorly hidden behind a bush.

Nathan was duly startled and leapt away from the terrifying bush monster, straight into the pond.

He stood there with water up to his knees until I helped him out and took him in for some dry clothes.

At home time I braced myself to ‘fess up and manfully admit my part in the escapade. I walked out with him to see his mum and tried to explain. I truly did try, but she was having none of it. She did not know why he would do such a thing even if he was scared, and told him so.

To my shame I finished with a rather lame,”Well I think he’s learned his lesson now.” and skulked of to the staff room for a cup of tea.

Since then I have arranged no more ambushes of any type.

6 thoughts on “It’s a bacon tree (or a ham bush, I’m not sure.)

  1. Love your stories! They always make me smile… and I never knew yeaching was so much fun! None of my teachers seemed to enjoy it lol!

  2. Aw, this is quite good. I hope people (teachers and kids alike) still do this.
    And the Nathan and (excuse me) skulker case would still be happening, even if we are doing it twice as good, I think. 🙂 Cheers!

  3. Aw, Nathan. Maybe he’s like me, head in the clouds, living in his imagination, writing a story . . . 🙂

  4. I did see Nathan again, years later, he was stealing things from a neighbours garden. When I challenged him he didn’t recognise me and gave me some abuse. I called him by his name and he jumped nearly as high as he had on that day by the pond.

Let me know what you thought....

